Ford C-Max Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a newbie in these parts, so please be gentle

Having recently bought an 04 2.0 TDCI Ghia C-MAX, I am looking to improve MPG, which, as other people have found, is way off the projected 50MPG (combined) as advertised by Ford.

Does anyone have any experience of one of these (£99)? Will it do as is advertised, in particular, improve MPG?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Diesel-Tuning-Performance-Chip-Ford-focus-C-Max-TDCI_W0QQitemZ110314381388QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item110314381388&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1301%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

I have noticed MetalMickey is using a Tunit, but as nearly £500, this is a little out of my price range.

Thanks.

·
Registered
336 Posts
Hello again , you need to be carefull with this topic, the expensive tuning boxs do calculate various parameters and give good power returns and a little increase in mpg by carefully increaseing the pressure of the common rail. However the cheap boxes are little more than a transistor,diode and potentiometer which just magnifies the ecu signal and increases common rail pressure massively or tricks the ecu into thinking the engine is cold (more fuel). I had an expensive box on one of my previous cars and it worked well. IMO try to change your driving style the 2.0tdci certainly has enough power for most I regularly give mine a thrash and still get 35 around town and high 40s on a run. Hope this helps

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah thanks lazyb. I think I will give this a miss. I certainly have to relearn my driving style that's for sure, having upgraded from my humble 1.25lt 9 year old fiesta! I'm travelling to Liverpool (from Rotherham) tomorrow so I am looking forward to seeing what MPG I get, as well as stretching it's legs properly for the first time since purchase!

·
Registered
2,402 Posts