Ford C-Max Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I’d be grateful for any help on the following. I am planning a front disc and pads change on my 2013 TDCi. I have changed pads before (on my Focus) but never discs, and I’m still a novice and as such, I do have a few Q’s:

1) do the pistons on the front push back or wind in?

2) in terms of hill assist, do I need to consider anything in order to not mess this up!? I’ve read some people have had issues after changing pads/discs.

3) does everyone always silicone grease calliper bolts on a pad and disc change, or is it just see how they are and add accordingly?

Thanks in advance for reading and for any responses, much appreciated.

·
Registered
352 Posts
I had new discs and pads all round on my 2014 C max and was surprised that the cost was a competitive £420 at Ford.
It may be worth considering.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had new discs and pads all round on my 2014 C max and was surprised that the cost was a competitive £420 at Ford.
It may be worth considering.
Thanks for the reply. I am keen to extend my knowledge of how to do a few jobs myself. Obviously brakes are an essential part of the car but having done pads before on a 2008 Focus I just wanted some advice on a few areas. I have had a quote for £200 for the front and whilst that’s competitive I’m keen to learn, like I say. Thank you for the response though.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hi,

I’d be grateful for any help on the following. I am planning a front disc and pads change on my 2013 TDCi. I have changed pads before (on my Focus) but never discs, and I’m still a novice and as such, I do have a few Q’s:

1) do the pistons on the front push back or wind in?

2) in terms of hill assist, do I need to consider anything in order to not mess this up!? I’ve read some people have had issues after changing pads/discs.